Moving To My Own Domain (Please Update Links)

Howdy folks. After all this time using WordPress.com – and, amazingly, all this time semi-actively producing and not abandoning the blog – I’ve decided to move over to my own domain.

All of the content you already know and love, and everything else I’ll be writing, can now be found at:

http://strangestones.com

So please update your links and rss feeds and such as appropriate.

While I’ve got no ill will towards WordPress.com per se, I don’t like the whole “we put ads on your site and make money (however little) off of your creativity” thing. Yes, I know it’s a free service and they need to bring in cash, but it just rubs me the wrong way. So, given that I’m already paying for more hosting than I can eat and I have the skills to run my own WordPress site, I’ve decided to move along.

I’m pretty sure I’ve got everything set up so that you’ll barely notice a difference, though if you should happen to find anything amiss, drop me a comment and I’ll address any weirdness as needed.

So thank you, WordPress.com. You made it nice and easy to get started on this little venture. I’m afraid I’ve just grown up enough that I don’t need your hosting anymore. But lord knows I do love your software, so we’re not exactly “over and done with.” Cheers to you and cheers to me 🙂

P.S. I won’t be taking this site down in the foreseeable future, so if you’ve bookmarked or linked to anything, you won’t be left out in the cold. This is about making a good thing even better, not making things worse, after all!

This entry was posted in General Geekness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

